I Am Writing – Double Exposure – 27/2/22

From Double Exposure:
Josh pushed back his chair. He stood and shoved his hands in his pockets. “Do you mind if I don’t give you a lift home, Ange? I know I said I would but I need to be alone right now.”

“Of course not. I’ll catch the cable car. It’s not a problem.” She caught his arm when he started to walk away. “Phone me if you need to talk, okay? And there’s a spare bed at my place if you change your mind about being alone.”

“I will, thanks.” Josh walked away without looking back.

Ange sighed and sat down again. “Poor guy. I always thought he was hiding something but I never guessed it was that.” She turned to Ben. “And what the hell was all that about giving Cody the third degree about his accent? He’s good for Josh. He’s smiled more over the last few months than he has in years.”

“He makes my spidey sense tingle,” Ben admitted. “I’m not sure what’s up with him, but something is.”

“I was suspicious about Simon when you guys met, and I was totally off base.” Ange had gone all Lois Lane and researched Simon, then worried that Ben had hooked up with an axe murderer when the information she’d found didn’t add up. “Unless you have proof, let Josh have a bit of happiness before all this Human Destiny stuff explodes in his face. And ours.”

“Cody wasn’t being completely honest when Ben asked about his accent.” Simon didn’t sound convinced. “His heart sped up when he was talking about his family.”

“Everyone keeps secrets,” Ange reminded him, “and they usually have good reasons for it. We’re keeping a huge secret from him.”

“He’s human,” said Simon.

“So are Ben and I. So?” Ange shrugged. “And as for keeping secrets, you guys have downplayed a lot of shit over the past six years. Some of it you haven’t mentioned at all. Neither of you are good liars when it comes to something happening to either of you.”

About Anne Barwell

Anne Barwell lives in Wellington, New Zealand. She shares her home with a cat with “tortitude” who is convinced that the house is run to suit her; this is an ongoing “discussion,” and to date, it appears as though Kaylee may be winning. In 2008, Anne completed her conjoint BA in English Literature and Music/Bachelor of Teaching. She has worked as a music teacher, a primary school teacher, and now works in a library. She is a member of the Upper Hutt Science Fiction Club and plays violin for Hutt Valley Orchestra. She is an avid reader across a wide range of genres and a watcher of far too many TV series and movies, although it can be argued that there is no such thing as “too many.” These, of course, are best enjoyed with a decent cup of tea and further the continuing argument that the concept of “spare time” is really just a myth. She also hosts and reviews for other authors, and writes monthly blog posts for Love Bytes. She is the co-founder of the New Zealand Rainbow Romance writers, and a member of RWNZ. Anne’s books have received honorable mentions five times, reached the finals four times—one of which was for best gay book—and been a runner up in the Rainbow Awards. She has also been nominated twice in the Goodreads M/M Romance Reader’s Choice Awards—once for Best Fantasy and once for Best Historical. Anne can be found at https://annebarwell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in I Am Writing, poneke shadows. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.