Book Review – Ithani by J. Scott Coatsworth


The Oberon Cycle #3
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 288
Characters: Xander/Jameson, Robin/Quince and others
POV: 3rd
Genre: Science Fiction, Series

Blurb:
Time is running out.

After saving the world twice, Xander, Jameson and friends plunge headlong into a new crisis. The ithani–the aliens who broke the world–have reawakened from their hundred millennia-long slumber. When Xander and Jameson disappear in a flash, an already fractured world is thrown into chaos.

The ithani plans, laid a hundred thousand years before, are finally coming to pass, and they threaten all life on Erro. Venin and Alix go on a desperate search for their missing and find more than they bargained for. And Quince, Robin and Jessa discover a secret as old as the skythane themselves.

Will alien technology, unexpected help from the distant past, destiny and some good old-fashioned firepower be enough to defeat an enemy with the power to split a world? The final battle of the epic science fiction adventure that began in Skythane will decide the fate of lander and skythane alike. And in the north, the ithani rise…

Buy Link

Review

I loved the first two books in this series, and this final instalment didn’t disappoint. As with everything I’ve read by this author, the world building is fabulous, detailed, and very visual. I always feel as though I’m stepping into another world with a rich history when I read one of his books. I love the VR and the PAs in particular although I’m not sure I’d want the latter as they feel very intrusive.

I liked how a group of Skythane and Landers work together in this story, yet a lot of both populations still carry old prejudices and will need to be won over. It felt very realistic.

I had begun to like Alix toward the end of book 2 in the series, but he comes into his own in this story, and is one of my favourite characters. It’s a huge sign of his maturity that he is able to step back and accept that his ex, whom he still loves, is with another man. I liked the new characters too. Venin caught my attention from the beginning and I liked his character arc.

Another strength of this book—and the series—are the strong women. Jessa comes into her own in this story, and I loved how she kicks arse, and manages to go with the flow when she’s thrown into a completely alien situation. No pun intended.

The villain of this story was a real piece of work. I loved the explanation of who the Ithani are, how their society works, and Morgan’s part in the story.

The easter eggs for the author’s other series added so much to my reading enjoyment. I love when series crossover like this! I want the last one in that series now so I can fill in the gaps. I spent a lot of those moments going wow, this is so cool. It was very satisfying for me as a reader too, although I don’t think anyone who hasn’t read The Liminal Sky series would be lost. If you haven’t read that series, however, I highly recommend it!

I found the ending of this series very satisfying, and loved the sense of everything coming full circle, especially with the revelation of how the planet was named.

I’d recommend Ithani to readers who enjoy science fiction with in depth world building, complex characters, and a plot that keeps you reading. I would however, recommend reading the series in order as this isn’t a stand alone. 5 out of 5 stars.

About Anne Barwell

Anne Barwell lives in Wellington, New Zealand. She shares her home with a cat with “tortitude” who is convinced that the house is run to suit her; this is an ongoing “discussion,” and to date, it appears as though Kaylee may be winning. In 2008, Anne completed her conjoint BA in English Literature and Music/Bachelor of Teaching. She has worked as a music teacher, a primary school teacher, and now works in a library. She is a member of the Upper Hutt Science Fiction Club and plays violin for Hutt Valley Orchestra. She is an avid reader across a wide range of genres and a watcher of far too many TV series and movies, although it can be argued that there is no such thing as “too many.” These, of course, are best enjoyed with a decent cup of tea and further the continuing argument that the concept of “spare time” is really just a myth. She also hosts and reviews for other authors, and writes monthly blog posts for Love Bytes. She is the co-founder of the New Zealand Rainbow Romance writers, and a member of RWNZ. Anne’s books have received honorable mentions five times, reached the finals four times—one of which was for best gay book—and been a runner up in the Rainbow Awards. She has also been nominated twice in the Goodreads M/M Romance Reader’s Choice Awards—once for Best Fantasy and once for Best Historical. Anne can be found at https://annebarwell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in book review, dreamspinner press. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Book Review – Ithani by J. Scott Coatsworth

  1. Pingback: FIVE STAR REVIEW: Ithani – J. Scott Coatsworth

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.