Book Review – My Not-So-Super Blind Date by Allison Temple

Subpar Heroes
Publisher: Allison Temple
Pages: 208
Characters: Morgan/Jasper
POV: 1st
Genre: Contemporary, Superhero, Series

Blurb:
I’m Morgan Murray. You probably haven’t heard of me. With a raft of allergies and powers that won’t do more than charge a phone, I never lived up to my super family’s super expectations. It’s okay. I’m used to being overlooked.

But there’s only so much disappointment one man can take, and finding out the cute guy on my blind date is a henchman for the city’s most notorious crime boss? That’s one letdown too many. This date is over before it even starts.

Or is it?

In the meet cute that won’t end, Jasper and I are stuck in a time loop and the only way out is deadly. Good and evil may be relative terms, but if we can’t escape, we may find out that love is forever…and ever.

My Not-So-Super Blind Date is part of the Subpar Heroes multi-author MM romance series.

Buy Link

Review

I have a weakness for superhero stories, and this one hit all the right spots. I loved Morgan and Jasper’s resetting first blind date, and how the truth behind their reliving the same day slowly unfolds.

I love how Morgan and Jasper get to know each other through their numerous first dates, and how their relationship deepens as they try to figure out what’s going on. I liked the consequences of the resetting and the different way it affected Jasper. I love the line about him “henching”.

Although the story starts with a fun concept, I loved how it soon becomes much more serious, and deals with loss, and expectations, especially with a parent who is a superhero.

I love how SPAM and April figure into this book, and how Morgan comes into his own with his power. I figured out the twist of who the bad guy was, but not the details, which I liked, as it gave depth to them and their actions, although didn’t excuse them.

The supporting cast make this world seem more real, and I particularly loved Vee, and Jasper’s family.

The only niggle I had with the book was the ending – I had to reread several times to figure out what exactly was going on, but that didn’t take away from my enjoyment or rating.

5 out of 5 stars.

About Anne Barwell

Anne Barwell lives in Wellington, New Zealand. She shares her home with a cat with “tortitude” who is convinced that the house is run to suit her; this is an ongoing “discussion,” and to date, it appears as though Kaylee may be winning. In 2008, Anne completed her conjoint BA in English Literature and Music/Bachelor of Teaching. She has worked as a music teacher, a primary school teacher, and now works in a library. She is a member of the Upper Hutt Science Fiction Club and plays violin for Hutt Valley Orchestra. She is an avid reader across a wide range of genres and a watcher of far too many TV series and movies, although it can be argued that there is no such thing as “too many.” These, of course, are best enjoyed with a decent cup of tea and further the continuing argument that the concept of “spare time” is really just a myth. She also hosts and reviews for other authors, and writes monthly blog posts for Love Bytes. She is the co-founder of the New Zealand Rainbow Romance writers, and a member of RWNZ. Anne’s books have received honorable mentions five times, reached the finals four times—one of which was for best gay book—and been a runner up in the Rainbow Awards. She has also been nominated twice in the Goodreads M/M Romance Reader’s Choice Awards—once for Best Fantasy and once for Best Historical. Anne can be found at https://annebarwell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in 1852 Media, book review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.