The Crimson Nights Saga by V.L. Moon and J.T. Cheyanne

A big welcome today to V.L. Moon and J.T. Cheyanne as part of their blog tour with Gay Book Promotions for The Crimson Nights Saga.

1. The logistics of how to put together the story with two heads, sitting together and brainstorm the scenes.
V.L
This part of our dynamic isn’t without its fair share of problems. As most know, J.T. and I live on different continents. We have a time difference to compete with, as well as the normal day to day issues that come with jobs, kids, and life in general. So, we try and work around each other the best way we can. WhatsApp is invaluable as is Facebook for keeping in touch. I’m usually the one to outline a story, bring in the ideas of what we’re to create, and J.T is the one to educate my ramblings while adding her own input to make the story’s we create readable.

J.T
We’ve all heard the old cliché, two heads are better than one. Writing with V.L. is certainly easier than writing solos in several aspects of the process. With both of us brainstorming and talking to the characters (yes, the voices can be rather loud, confusing and boisterous), writer’s block is a moot issue. If one of us gets stuck, the other can usually pick up and run with what’s on the page. As she said, we communicate a lot through Facebook, WhatsApp and store our document online using OneDrive. This gives us both easy access to the document. The conversations on both forums are priceless as they are there if you need to go back and reference what/who/when and where. We have numerous discussions about timeline and story development. Basically, shorthand notes that can be searched and reviewed. We don’t have to try and remember the thought that flashed into our brain in the middle of work, or on the drive home or in the shower. Things you lose when you write solo. The time difference does cause some problems, but we’ve learned to overcome most of them given we’ve been doing this for seven years. I, for one, enjoy the collaboration with my wife and thank my lucky stars that we both get to do something we enjoy and do it together.

2, writing with each other.
V.L.
As we don’t have the most conventional of marriage we tend to rotate. I sleep, J.T. writes etc…It’s not easy when jobs encroach on our time. But, we make it work. We have lists of future stories all waiting to be written. However, due to my inability to write a short story, these always take much longer than expected and tend to end up much bigger than the short series we usually expect it to be.

J.T.
Writing with V.L. has been one of the best experiences of my life. We’ve made this journey from the start as a couple. We met through an online fanfic group, started interacting with each other and the rest, as they say, is history. We both decided that we wanted to pursue the dream of becoming published authors. The voices in our heads became louder and more demanding so we put fingers to keys and set out on this awesome journey. We’ve taken every step together. We both enjoy what we do and take great pride in our work together.

3, What’s the best place and time for you to write
V.L
For me personally, early mornings when there’s no one at home. I’m a neat freak and need everything to be just right before I can sit down to write. The dog has to be walked before anything, then the dishes and the laundry have to be done, followed by the floors. Yes, I can hear J.T snickering and rolling her eyes at me from across the ocean, but that’s me. It’s who I am and how I cope. I can’t write when I have distractions. I have a zero attention span so I need relative calm to be able to write. Music helps as it helps the words flow. T.V is a no…as I end up watching instead of writing. Late nights, when everyone is asleep is great as I rarely sleep more than three to four hours and my neighbors get pissy if I vacuum…I don’t know why LOL.

J.T.
Anytime I can find the spare time. Usually, when I sit down to write, I can tune out most everything and focus on the voices in my head. Having a grandchild in the house has made that a little more difficult. Her sweet face, gorgeous smile and infectious laugh pull my attention to her every time. I prefer to sit in the living room with NCIS or Criminal Minds on the television on low. I’ve seen just about all of the episodes of both so the background noise doesn’t distract me. And, I think we can all agree Shemar Moore is great inspiration! I have a fold up table that slides under the sofa so I can sit back and let the words flow. Saturday mornings are usually the best times to write as I work full-time Monday through Friday.

4, What’s the must have nearby (cookies, coffee/tea or what?)
V.L.
Music and coffee are a must. I have a huge ass mug that gets refilled constantly and the coffee is followed by peanut M&M’s.

J.T.
I really don’t have any must-have items. I drink either sweet tea or Dr. Pepper. And now, cue V.L.’s eye rolling and gags. LOL. I don’t drink anything hot. It’s far too warm in the South for hot drinks. My favorite munchies are Rocky Road ice cream, brownies and chocolate chip cookies. I have a serious addiction to chocolate.

5, Do you want each book to stand on its own, or are you trying to build a body of work with connections between each book?
V.L
It all depends on the book. The Crimson Nights Saga is a huge body of work that integrates multiple characters that are all interwoven within the story-line. Each character has its own issues, however, their story is linked to the book’s actual ending. For us to get there, the story of each character has to be told to reach that point. With our other books, such as Love Life & Circumstance, they are stand alone…for now. 🙂 People have asked us to expand on the other characters in some of our other books. Who knows. Only time will tell.

J.T.
As V.L. said, The Crimson Nights Saga is an ongoing series that requires you read them in order. Those books are already long reads. If we took the time to re-explain everything in each new book, we would have an epic novel on our hands with every single edition and our loyal readers would have to wade through details they already know. Each book does pick up immediately where the prior one left off so there is no lag in the continuation of the story which I believe is a plus for the reader. We do have stand alone reads as V.L. said above and sometimes those secondary characters pop back up and start waving flags at us wanting their story told. At the moment, we don’t have plans to revisit them, but like V.L. said, that could change if they yell loud enough.

6, Do you hide any secrets in your books that only a few people will find?
V.L
I do, but someone would have to know me very well to know exactly what they are. With the exception of In Safe Hands as I made no secret of the fact that it was written as a cathartic exercise for me to accept who I am.

J.T
I don’t think I’ve included any secrets of my own. We are guilty of a play on names for our bad guys or villains, but I think every author has done that at some point. I’m a pretty open book and my views, likes, and dislikes are pretty clear. The characters I write do tend to share my views and opinions and warped sense of humor.

 

 

 

Title: Crimson Storm (Book Three in The Crimson Nights Saga)

Authors: V.L. Moon and J.T. Cheyanne

Cover Art by: http://www.soxsationalcoverart.com/

Genre/s: Gay, Romance, Paranormal

Length: 155K/658 Kindle pages

ISBN: 978-0-9899725-6-7

Add on Goodreads

 

Blurb

As their allies grow and their circle of friends discovers true love, their enemies advance.

Shadows watch, waiting in the distance as an age old power threatens to reveal the secrets of a past steeped in sorrow.

War is upon them and with its advance comes a force of unity bound by love and sealed by blood.

Together, Malachi and Laziel fight to protect those they hold close.

When Rome trembles and the bowels of Hell spew forth its spawn, the wolves and the rogue Nephilim join forces with Malachi Denali and his vampires to fight against evil and tip the scales in favor of the just.

Fractions divide, lives lay in ruin. Is the call of the wild their only hope of survival?

Or will Rome finally fall under the weight of an angel’s untold grief?

Read on to assuage your thirst as the Crimson Nights Saga continues.

 

Buy Links:

Available on KU

Amazon UK | Amazon.com

 

Book 1

 

Book 2

 

The Crimson Nights Saga Book and Review Tour Schedule

Check out the reviews, guest posts, interviews, and exclusive excerpts from Crimson Storm

July 31st

Gay Book Promotions

Hearts On Fire Reviews

August 1st

Lily G Blunt

Tangents and Tissues

August 2nd

Stories That Make You Smile

August 4th

Scattered Thoughts and Rogue Words

August 5th/6th

Diverse Reader

The Way She Reads

Fangirl Moments and My Two Cents

My Fiction Nook

Millsy Loves Books

Hoards Jumble

August 7th

Immortal Crimson Reviews

Slashsessed

August 12th/13th

Alpha Book Club

Lily’s Reviews

Bayou Book Junkie

Drops of Ink

Love Bytes Reviews

 

 

Meet the Authors

Multi-genre romance and fiction writing duo V.L Moon and J.T Cheyanne span a continental divide to bring together their love, support, and admiration for the LGBT communities they belong to. With their ever growing families’ support, they make the most of what little time they have to write the love, angst, and turmoil that hopefully reflects the struggle that is, modern day life.

 

 

Social Media Links:

Facebook | Website | VL Moon Twitter | JT Cheyenne Twitter

 

Rafflecopter Giveaway

Win an ebook from the authors’ backlist

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Hosted by

Gay Book Promotions


About Anne Barwell

Anne Barwell lives in Wellington, New Zealand. She shares her home with two cats who are convinced that the house is run to suit them; this is an ongoing “discussion,” and to date it appears as though the cats may be winning. In 2008 she completed her conjoint BA in English Literature and Music/Bachelor of Teaching. She has worked as a music teacher and a primary school teacher, and now works in a library. She is a member of the Upper Hutt Science Fiction Club and plays violin for Hutt Valley Orchestra. She is an avid reader across a wide range of genres and a watcher of far too many TV series and movies, although it can be argued that there is no such thing as “too many.” These, of course, are best enjoyed with a decent cup of tea and further the continuing argument that the concept of “spare time” is really just a myth. She also hosts other authors, reviews for the GLBTQ Historical Site “Our Story” and Top2Bottom Reviews, and writes monthly blog posts for Authors Speak and Love Bytes. Anne’s books have received honorable mentions four times and reached the finals three times in the Rainbow Awards. She has also been nominated twice in the Goodreads M/M Romance Reader’s Choice Awards—once for Best Fantasy and once for Best Historical. Anne can be found at https://annebarwell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in blog tour, gay book promotions, guest post. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

