Release Day Blitz – Louder Than Words by Siryn Sueng

A big welcome today to Siryn Sueng as part of her release day blitz with Embrace the Rainbow Book Promotions from Deep Desires Press.

Can you tell us a bit about yourself and your writing?
Sure! I’ve been writing for a very long time and I didn’t start out in the M/M genre. When I was younger I was writing high fantasy with a vast array of characters and I wasn’t all that much into romance either then. Now, though, I’ve moved from the teenage vision to the adult side, and my writing has gone into the erotica genre. I write mostly fantasy, paranormal, and sci-fi (and they all have steamy sex of course!), though Louder than Words is my first contemporary and I’m pretty excited about it.

I’m married to my wonderful husband of 13 years. I’m bisexual, a gamer, and an animal lover. We currently have two cats: Kida and Anubis. Kida is the eldest and is constantly being annoyed by Anubis. She likes to glare at us like it’s our fault. I’m also a huge coffee drinker, and I love dark chocolate. Those are my weaknesses.

Can you tell us about your new release? What inspired you to write it?
Louder than Words is the sweetest romance I’ve ever tried my hand at. I don’t remember what inspired the idea behind LtW, but I know that I wanted something to be a little unique with it. Which is where Alex’s disability comes from. One vocal cord is paralyzed and therefore, he uses sign language to communicate.

The story is about Derrek, who is our main character. He has a massive crush on the Starbucks barista, Alex. When he finally gets the courage to ask Alex on a date, he thinks he’s been rejected because Alex doesn’t answer him. Later that day, and under the urging of his best friend Bryant, Derrek comes back to the Starbucks and finds out that Alex uses sign language. With the second attempt to talk to Alex a little smoother than before, Derrek sets up lessons with Alex to learn sign language so they can communicate. Their lesson’s turn sweet as Derrek gets closer to Alex and they begin to go out on dates.

Over all, the novella is very sweet, all romance, with one steamy sex scene.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?
For me, the entire book was rather hard to write as contemporary is way out of my norm. But I made it through. There were plenty of times that I got stuck and remained stuck for a couple days before I could keep going again. I’m happy I did though. It was a challenging, unique experience to try my hand at something I don’t tend to write.

Are you a panster or a plotter?
Definitely a panster. I can’t plot it all out, it kills it for me. It’s like spoiling the end of a mystery novel, or a thriller movie. I like to be my own personal reader. I don’t know what’s going to happen next until I write it and I prefer it that way.

Do you write often? Is it on a schedule, or whenever you feel like it?
I try to write as often as I can. I work part-time and in addition to having a lot of marketing things to do, sometimes it can be difficult to find the time to sit down and write. There is no set schedule, so when I have time, and I’m not working, I write.


If you could go anywhere in the world, all expenses paid, where would you go, who would you take with you, if anyone, and why?

Easy, Japan. And I would take my husband with me. Japan is beautiful. I love the people, the culture, the history. Everything about Japan just seems to speak to me. If I could, I’d have loved to have been born Japanese. Maybe in my next life.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what three things (or people) would you want there with you?
My husband, a sexy girl to share in all the passion, and lots of alcohol.

What are your writing and personal goals for 2017 and beyond?
My writing goals are to have my paranormal series up and running strong. In addition, my co-writer and I are working hard on our projects and I cannot wait to send those in to the publisher. My hope is to have those out soon, there’s quite a lot we’ve written together so I’m excited for that. For my personal goals. Well, I’ve already married the love of my life, and high school sweet heart. We’ve been together for 13 years now. By next year I hope to have started a family. But other than kids in the coming future, I have all I want right now for my personal life. There’s not much more I could ever ask for.

What are you working on at present? Would you like to share a snippet?
Right now, I’m working on edits for Incubus Touch. However, as for novel/novella related work, I’m working on a book tilted From Shadows. I’m writing it for Camp NaNo and I’m hopeful that I’ll finish it!

Here’s a short excerpt for you:

Icy air seeped through the leather of his clothes. He leaned a little closer to the chimney next to him. The creak of the bow string was too loud next to his ear. He moved forward, tilting closer to the edge of the rooftop he was perched on. The house across from him was dark like the rest in the city. The only difference was the shadowed figure that moved back and forth inside the room just below where he was kneeling. Daiskel followed the movement of the person inside the room, tilting left then right ever so slightly. The bowstring creaked again as he tightened it, drawing the string back further just past the middle of his cheek.

His breath steamed in short puffs. The hood of his cloak kept the falling snow from covering his face and getting into his eyes. Daiskel pulled the arrow back a little further as he watched the figure move to the right again. His heart slowed as did his breathing. The icy air grew colder and the snow flurries drifted by lazily. The shallow breaths stopped as he stilled his body. The figure moved to the left.

The arrow shot forward, the string giving a soft snap on release. Daiskel held the position for several seconds, even when the glass broke and the one he’d killed crumpled to the floor. Silence came back, and the snowy night was listless once again.

Are you a cat person or a dog person? Can you tell us about your pets?
I love animals. Currently we have two cats: Anubis and Kida. Kida is the eldest and she’s got a little Maine Coon in her. Anubis is the youngest, we consider him in his early ‘teenage’ years. He’s also the trouble maker and likes to annoy Kida. She glares at my husband and me; because clearly we are to blame when he’s attacking her tail. Anubis is also the clown, he has no grace what so ever and is constantly falling off things, falling between the couch and wall, missing his jumps up into the windowsill. It’s rather entertaining at times. But for all his hypertension, he’s also the most loving. He likes kisses and even tilts his head up for a kiss on his nose from us when we come home from work. Though he gets in trouble all the time and I tell Kida she’s the only good one, I wouldn’t let him for or trade him for anything.

Some day in the future when we get a house and a nice back yard, we will have a dog as well. But for now, we will have our two kitties.

LTW banner

Title: Louder Than Words
Author: Siryn Sueng
Release Date: April 11th 2017
Genre: MM Contemporary Romance, Novella

LOUDER THAN WORDS - FINAL

BLURB

Derrek is a local teacher in Clearwater, Florida. He frequents a nearby coffee shop before work every morning, where he finds himself enraptured with a young barista, Alex. But Alex never seems to notice him, even when he’s handing Derrek his morning coffee.

After weeks of hiding in his corner under the pretense of working, Derrek finally gains enough courage to ask Alex on a date. He’s crushed when all he gets for an answer is complete silence. He thinks it’s the end, until he finds out that Alex has a disability that has paralyzed his vocal cords.

Sign language is Alex’s way of communication, and it’s something that Derrek knows little to nothing about. With renewed determination, Derrek asks Alex to teach him sign language. Derrek wants to be able to talk to Alex, to tell him how he really feels, and find out if Alex feels the same.

But more than anything, he longs for a relationship that goes deeper than just words alone.

Louder Than Words is an 18,000-word novella.

Find Louder Than Words on Goodreads

Purchase: Amazon US | Amazon UK | iBooks | Deep Desires Press

EXCERPT

Alex was gorgeous; a little shorter than myself, but not by much. He looked like he went to the gym. I found myself trying to imagine what shape his body was in underneath the black shirt and green apron. I realized I was staring when Alex looked up from the coffee machine and made eye contact. I turned away, facing my computer with an intensity that could kill; if that were at all possible. My heart pounded, face heating as I stared at the loaded document on the laptop. I’d opened the lesson plan simply to have an excuse to sit at the tall table with the outlet right next to it.

I chanced a quick glance over at the bar and watched as Alex handed the cup of coffee to one of the waiting customers with his usual smile. Damn it, that man could smile. It was cute, the way his head tilted to the side just a little as he flashed it to the young woman. For a moment, I felt a spark of jealousy and smothered it with a gulp of the searing hot latte I was clutching a little too tightly.

Today, I’ll do it.

I’d been telling myself that for the past week. God, I feel like a damned stalker. And at my age! I’m almost thirty! Where the hell had all my bravado gone? Bryant, my best friend, teased me often enough already about not being able to ask Alex on a date. The words “grow a pair” had been mentioned plenty of times. I frowned at my cup as if it were the culprit. “I have a pair, jackass,” I muttered.

GIVEAWAY: Win Louder Than Words ebook!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author

Siryn profile pic.jpg

Siryn Sueng is an erotica M/M romance writer. Mostly she writes in the fantasy, paranormal, and even Sci-Fi genres. Louder than Words, though, is her first ever contemporary work. She’s married to her wonderful husband of 13 years, and they have two cute kittens, Anubis and Kida, who drive them crazy almost all the time. Anubis fancies himself the destroyer of the elusive red dot…

Siryn is a lover of games on a wide range of platforms. She plays on the PC, console, and hand-held devices (her 3DS currently). She also plays otome novels on her tablet. Dragon Age, the Fire Emblem series, and the Tale’s series are her favorite games. Japan is where she would love to visit sometime. She’s a huge fan of Japan, including manga and anime. Siryn loves to read, though she’s been writing more than reading as of late. And she has a deep love for dragons. She has a very large collection of dragon statues in her house.

Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

embrace-button-small

About Anne Barwell

Anne Barwell lives in Wellington, New Zealand. She shares her home with two cats who are convinced that the house is run to suit them; this is an ongoing “discussion,” and to date it appears as though the cats may be winning. In 2008 she completed her conjoint BA in English Literature and Music/Bachelor of Teaching. She has worked as a music teacher and a primary school teacher, and now works in a library. She is a member of the Upper Hutt Science Fiction Club and plays violin for Hutt Valley Orchestra. She is an avid reader across a wide range of genres and a watcher of far too many TV series and movies, although it can be argued that there is no such thing as “too many.” These, of course, are best enjoyed with a decent cup of tea and further the continuing argument that the concept of “spare time” is really just a myth. She also hosts other authors, reviews for the GLBTQ Historical Site “Our Story” and Top2Bottom Reviews, and writes monthly blog posts for Authors Speak and Love Bytes. Anne’s books have received honorable mentions four times and reached the finals three times in the Rainbow Awards. She has also been nominated twice in the Goodreads M/M Romance Reader’s Choice Awards—once for Best Fantasy and once for Best Historical. Anne can be found at https://annebarwell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in deep desires press, embrace the rainbow book promotions, Interview, release day blitz. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Release Day Blitz – Louder Than Words by Siryn Sueng

  1. kirstviz says:

    Thank you for supporting the tour xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

