Birthday Giveaway

To celebrate my birthday tomorrow, as it’s one of those significant numbers ending in ‘0’, I’m giving away an ebook from my backlist.

To be in the draw ask me a question about any of my books – past, present and future – or characters, and I’ll answer, or perhaps a character or two might, if the question is directed toward them. I do reserve the right to avoid spoilers though, depending on what they are.

I’m keeping the contest until Monday as that’s the beginning of my next weekend.

Crossposting this on my LJ. Questions posted both there and here are eligible as I know some people prefer one interface over the other.

About Anne Barwell

Anne Barwell lives in Wellington, New Zealand. She shares her home with two cats who are convinced that the house is run to suit them; this is an ongoing “discussion,” and to date it appears as though the cats may be winning. In 2008 she completed her conjoint BA in English Literature and Music/Bachelor of Teaching. She has worked as a music teacher and a primary school teacher, and now works in a library. She is a member of the Upper Hutt Science Fiction Club and plays violin for Hutt Valley Orchestra. She is an avid reader across a wide range of genres and a watcher of far too many TV series and movies, although it can be argued that there is no such thing as “too many.” These, of course, are best enjoyed with a decent cup of tea and further the continuing argument that the concept of “spare time” is really just a myth. She also hosts other authors, reviews for the GLBTQ Historical Site “Our Story” and Top2Bottom Reviews, and writes monthly blog posts for Authors Speak and Love Bytes. Anne’s books have received honorable mentions four times and reached the finals three times in the Rainbow Awards. She has also been nominated twice in the Goodreads M/M Romance Reader’s Choice Awards—once for Best Fantasy and once for Best Historical. Anne can be found at https://annebarwell.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in contest. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Birthday Giveaway

  1. Andys says:

    Well, this is sort of a general question, but what was the first book (or story) you read that made you want to be a reader?

    Like

    • annebarwell says:

      I read ‘The Dark is Rising’ by Susan Cooper back in primary school, and while I was waiting for the rest of the series to come out I wrote what happened next with some friends as a round robin. It’s probably a good thing that old exercise book is long gone. More recently re writing my first novel I’d have to blame Diana Gabaldon’s ‘Cross Stitch’ series.

      Like

  2. Hi Anne, and Happy Birthday! Here’s my question–hope it makes sense:

    Which of your characters is most likely to read one of your books? Why do you think so, and which book would he read?

    Like

    • annebarwell says:

      Hi and thanks for the birthday wishes 🙂 Your question makes perfect sense. Cathal would be the one who would want to read one of my books. He’s an avid reader and loves books and I think he’d read ‘Cat’s Quill’ because then he’d read Tomas’s POV for their story. There’s a fine line between stories and reality in that series, so I think crossing that 4th wall in this case isn’t an issue.

      Like

  3. Rhys Ford says:

    Woooooot. I shall crosspost this to my blog.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Anne Barwell Giveaway « Rhys Ford

  5. Leki-pup says:

    Hey there~ Happy Birthday and I hope it’s a great one! (I wanna see the answer to madisonparklove’s question~)

    Uhm, this might be a bland question but I wanna know what inspired you to write Cat’s quill.

    Like

    • annebarwell says:

      Thanks for the birthday wishes. Definitely not a bland question and the answer is two fold, ie I blame two related things for ‘Cat’s Quill’. The movie ‘City of Angels’ and more especially one of the songs from it ‘Iris’ by the Goo Goo Dolls. The music itself and the lyrics fed the muse like crazy especially the lines: ‘I’d give up forever to touch you’, and ‘I don’t want the world to see me. I just want you to know who I am’. In the original outline, Cat was a muse, but he and Tomas had other ideas and it changed somewhat from there as I went along.

      Like

  6. Juliana says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! I was wondering how you decide on a character’s name. Do you have a name in mind and build a personality from it or do you have a character and name him based on personality? Or do you go to babynames.com and go random?

    Like

    • annebarwell says:

      Thanks for the birthday wishes. I’ll be drawing a winner later today, meant to last night but got distracted by planting roses and orchestra rehearsal.

      To answer your question, it’s a bit of both. Some characters turn up complete with name and personality. Others turn up without names – but are no less pushy – so often I go to a name site – ‘behind the name’ is one I use a lot – and pick a name from there with a mix of what catches my eye/the meaning behind it. If I get the name wrong the character tells me fairly fast but I always have them sorted before I start writing. I usually work out outlines and add to them several projects ahead of my current WIP.

      Like

Leave a Reply

